Belle Plaine Area Graduates Awarded Scholarships

Post date: May 23, 2013 9:23:05 PM

Winfield, KS, May 23, 2013 — Fifteen graduates from the Belle Plaine region have received scholarships from funds invested with Belle Plaine Community Foundation.

Lanore Bishop Education Scholarships are awarded to graduates of Belle Plaine or Mulvane high schools who will pursue degrees in education. High school seniors Emily Chancellor, Megan Doyle, Hallie Good, Aspen Hamilton, Zachary Haynes, Amanda Hively, Diana Rosenkrance and Carly Wichman received awards as did 2011 graduates Taylor Scott and Emily Doyle and 2008 graduates Melanie Gerard Sturgeon and Margaret Detrick. 2007 Mulvane High School graduate Tyler Goad also received a Bishop scholarship towards graduate studies.

The Ralph and Dorothy Hopper Mathematics Scholarship was awarded to Breanna Potter. She plans to attend Kansas State University to study Veterinary Medicine.

The first ever Sammye VanderWall Scholarship was awarded to Taila Lewis. She plans to attend Cowley County Community College where she will study graphic design.

Bishops Scholarships are decided by a committee formed by Belle Plaine Community Foundation. Hopper and VanderWall scholarships were decided by committees from Belle Plaine High School. Applications are made available in the early spring.

Belle Plaine Community Foundation creates a stronger future for our area by building endowments, providing informed leadership and connecting donors to the critical needs of the region. Belle Plaine Community Foundation is an affiliate of Legacy Regional Community Foundation. For more information contact Legacy at (620) 221-7224 or visit or