Legacy Foundation awards local scholars over $87,000

Post date: Jun 29, 2017 5:48:33 PM

2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients

Winfield, KS: Legacy Regional Community Foundation is a 501(c) 3 non-profit philanthropic organization incorporated in September 1996 by a volunteer board of directors. Since 2000, Legacy has received contributions totaling more the $8 million and distributed nearly $3 million in grants. Legacy Regional Community Foundation awarded over $87,000 in scholarships for the 2017 2018 school year. The recipients of those scholarships are:


ACE Scholarships

William Hankins, Ark City; University of Kansas-Nursing

Sidney Nittler, Ark City; Cowley College-Art

AFS Scholarship

Caitlyn Eickleberry, Ark City; Kansas State University-Veterinary Medicine

Mason Flower, Ark City; Baker University-Business

Julia McMains, Ark City; Southwestern College-Music

Bryant Family Scholarship

Lindsay Noland, Ark City; Cowley College-Agricultural Education

Gene & Sally Burr Family Scholarship

Quinn Johnson, Ark City; Hendrix College-Creative Writing

Robert & Marcia Childers Scholarship

Lindsay Hull, Ark City; Cowley College-Pre-Medicine

Colton Watters, Ark City; Kansas State University-Engineering

Class of ’55 Scholarship

Morgan Hettenbach, Ark City; Cowley College-Elementary Education

Skylar Kelly, Ark City; Cowley College-Physical Therapy

Class of ’57 Scholarship

Tia Breckenridge, Ark City; Kansas State University-Kinesiology

Brynn Moore, Parkerfield; Cowley College-Nursing

Class of ’59 Scholarship

Linnae Downs, Ark City; Wichita State-Pre-Medicine

Janet English Scholarship

Hannah McNulty, Ark City; Cowley College-Pre-Medicine

Joline Iverson Family Scholarship

Hunter Trent, Parkerfield; Cowley College--Non-Destructive Testing

Legacy Scholarship

Madison Oak, Ark City; Cowley College-Nursing

PEO Chapter ER Scholarship

Bethany Blatchford, Ark City; Pittsburg State-Business Management

Rogers Family Scholarship

Halle Bucher, Ark City; Cowley College-Pre-Dental

Warren Family Scholarship

Candace Sweetwood, Ark City; Kansas State University-Interior Design

Ark City- Robert Warrender Scholarship

Anthony Curz-Guerra, Ark City; University of Kansas-Physical Therapy

Belle Plaine Scholarships

Lanore Bishop Scholarship

Tyler Balsters, Belle Plaine; Emporia State University-Biology

Emma Chambers, Mulvane; Emporia State University-Education

Keith George, Belle Plaine; Fort Hays State University-Masters

Elise Gerlach, Derby; Bethel College-Education

Aspen Hamilton, Mulvane; Friends University-Education

Clayton Happy, Belle Plaine; Emporia State University-Education

Payton Haynes, Mulvane; Butler Co Community College-Education

Kylie McElravy, Belle Plaine; Emporia State University-Masters

Zoe Rice, Belle Plaine; Emporia State University-Education

Sumar Stinnett, Belle Plaine; Southwestern College-Education

Mary Wellman, Belle Plaine; Fort Hays State University-Education

Ralph and Dorothy Hopper Mathematics Scholarship

Hannah Chorn, Wellington; Kansas State University-Computer Science

Ada Lucretia Richardson Miller Scholarship

Jason Jinkens, Belle Plaine; Baker University-Masters

Sammye VanderWall Scholarship

Cassidy Williams, Belle Plaine; Johnson Co Comm College-Graphic Design


Orville Bair Family Scholarship

Sara Jackson, Burden; Fort Hays State University-Psychology

Sam Jackson, Burden; Hesston Community College-Counseling

Burden Chamber of Commerce Scholarship

Sam Jackson, Burden; Hesston Community College-Counseling

Hanna & Farris Jabara Scholarship

Cody Jimenez, Winfield; Southwestern College-Sports Management/Music

Mirriah Wallingford, Cambridge; Cowley College-Dentistry


Madlyn Root Scholarship

Makaila Bonner, Elgin; Labette College-Undecided

Jaden Uhls, Pawhuska Coffeyville Community College Lineman Tech

Fred & Betty Travis Scholarship

Michael Blankinship, Sedan; Wichita State University-Graphic Design

Alyson Hurt, Sedan; Washburn University-Forensic Science

Jake Mills, Sedan;Arkansas University-Biochemistry

Kayla Signer, Havana; Coffeyville Community College-Agriculture

Leah Steward, Sedan; Kansas State University-Education

Haley Williams, Peru; University of Kansas-Exercise Science

Rebecca Zimmerman, Sedan; Pittsburg State University-English Education

Sedan-Robert Warrender Scholarship

Grace Davis, Sedan; Wichita State University-Biomedical Engineering

Michaela Warmbrodt, Sedan; Butler Co Community College-Anesthesiology


Angela Harding Scholarship

Dallas Anderson, South Haven; Cowley College-Engineering

Skylar Muns, Caldwell; Cowley College-Psychology

Joy Turek Scholarship

Carolyn Culp, South Haven; Northern Oklahoma College-Nursing


Glenn & Marie McCurry Memorial Scholarship

Tristan Schoech, Udall; Cowley College-Computer Science


Nichols-Broadhurst (MLK) Scholarships

Isaiah Washington, Winfield; Southwestern College-Pre-Medicine

William Wollard, Winfield; Washburn University-Criminal Justice

Marlyn & Blaine Harp Scholarship

Kylie Randall, Winfield; Southwestern College-Pre-Medicine

Legacy Scholarships

Corey Firebaugh, Winfield; Cowley College-Music Education

Steven Lambert, Burden; Cowley College-Mechanical Engineering

Summer Long, Burden; Cowley College-Occupational Therapy Asst

Kylie Randall, Winfield; Southwestern College-Pre-Medicine

Power of the Purse Scholarship

Abby Bertholf, Winfield; Southwestern College-Pre-Pharmacy

Karrie McNutt, Winfield; Southwestern College-Elementary Education

Winfield- Robert Warrender Scholarship

Jonathan Lee, Winfield; Southwestern College-Music Education

About Legacy Foundation: Incorporated in 1996, Legacy Foundation is a 501(c) 3 non-profit philanthropic organization. Legacy creates a stronger future for our area by building endowments, providing informed leadership and connecting donors to the critical needs of the region. For more information visit our website www.legacyregionalfoundation.org, find us on Facebook, or call 620-221-7224.